Tres meses en Salamanca

I typed “best places to learn Spanish in Spain” in Google and Salamanca popped up. I don’t like reading too many texts but once I saw  pictures of this little town, I fell in love. Some further digging landed me to this small school called Tia Tula in that city. I have many good memories from my time there but don’t think you would like to read through it all that. Here are few of my highlights from my time there –

  • This little town is like a fairyland straight from Disney movies. The architecture is priceless. I can stare at the cathedral all day and not get bored, or try to find a frog on one the wall of University of Salamanca or look at the shells of Casas de las Conchas.
Part of Catedral Nueva (New Cathedral)
Part of Catedral Nueva (New Cathedral)
Cathedral
Cathedral
University of Salamanca–Find a frog on that wall and consider yourself lucky
University of Salamanca–Try your luck and find a frog on that wall.
Streets in front of Casa de las Conchas
Streets in front of Casa de las Conchas
  • I enjoyed wandering around these little streets

IMG_4544 IMG_4547

  • Churros con chocolates–fattening and yummy

IMG_4503

How can you say no to these
How can you say no to these
  • Hanging out on these steps during afternoon breaks from school
Best place to meet and greet with everyone!
Best place to meet and greet with everyone!
  • Loved loved loved Plaza de Mayor. Who wouldn’t with such an amazing architecture? You feel like you have been transported to some other world. Best place to spend time whether it was morning, afternoon or evening.
Who can't fall in love with Plaza de Mayor
Who can’t fall in love with Plaza de Mayor
IMG_4863
Just chilling!

IMG_4527

  • Watching World Cup Soccer 2014. Even though Spain lost early, it was still wonderful meeting up with friends and watching the game.
The time when Spain was still in the league
The time when Spain was still in the league
Not sure who we decide to root for after Spain left. Still fun though !
Not sure who we decide to root for after Spain left. Still fun though !
  • Parque de las Jesuitas. I enjoyed going there for my afternoon naps (siesta), study and my morning run
Starting my run
Starting my run
Picnic
Picnic
Siesta time + Studying
Siesta time + Studying
  • Going out till wee hours. Seriously, Spanish knows how to party without any sleep.
Somewhere early morning
Somewhere early morning
  • Tapas run. Spanish people can eat. I mean little too much meat for me but they can eat. I seriously love the Tapas hopping culture. You are full, little bit merry and you have tried out some great food from several places.

IMG_4860 IMG_4532

  • AMIGOS! This was probably the best highlight of the trip. I made some wonderful lifelong friends from 16-year-olds to 60-year-olds.

IMG_0010

Te echo de menos Salamanca. Quero ir otra vez.


2 thoughts on “Tres meses en Salamanca

Leave a comment