Along the Moselle river in Germany

After travelling for weeks, sleeping in hostels and carrying my 12 kgs, I was excited to get to Germany. Why? Because I was meeting some family friends. That means fresh home cooked food, big shower room (compare to the ones in hostels) and I get to do my laundry (clean clothes). Oh, and I WAS excited to see my family friends too. Don’t get me wrong here. After seeing all the big cities in this trip, it was a good break to visit smaller towns. I stayed in Trier for most of the time and when I found out that it is so close to Luxemborg and good old France, I was way too excited to go visit.

1. The Cathedral in Cologne is huge and gothicy. It’s beautiful. Going inside the cathedral always gives me that peace even when it is crowded. Plus the architecture is always so gorgeous. Just can’t help but think that so many people must have died making this.

That's me roaming around Cologne with the Cathedral in the backdrop
That’s me roaming around Cologne with the Cathedral in the backdrop

2. Went to stay with one of my famil friend in Niederstadtfeld. Such a cute little village. We also went by a village, which is popular in making mouse traps. Who knew there is a village just for that.

A beautiful village called Niederstadtfeld
A beautiful village called Niederstadtfeld
I loved the green pastures and beautiful sunny day
I loved the green pastures and beautiful sunny day

3. Took a trip to a wine city called Bernkastel-Kues along the Moselle river and tried the famous Federweisser (fermented wine) & Zwiebelkuchen (onion cake). I was told Federweisser is a very particular form of wine, available only for a limited timer after the harvest. Was I not glad that I was there at the right time. Federweisser is a process in wine making, which is in its way to fermenting. Another highlight of this town was seeing these crooked houses with small base at the bottome but bigger area at the top – a smart way to increase the space.

Awesome food.
Awesome food.
Loved these crooked houses
Loved these crooked houses

4. Took another trip to another town called Mettlach along the Moselle river. This place is famous for Villeroy & Boch, a large manufacturer of ceramics. I did not know about Villeroy & Boch or this city until I arrived. One more item added to my knowledge history. Also, took a hike to see a castle. The hike was beautiful with fall colours everywhere.

Hiking up to the castle in Metlach
Hiking up to the castle in Metlach

5. Best part in Germany – food (especially desserts). I loved trying different desserts, tasting wine and drinking beers. Also, was amazed to see so many little cute castles.

Best times - taking a break from the cold weather to have a coffee and yummy desserts
Best times – taking a break from the cold weather to have a coffee and yummy desserts
Gluehwein & curry wurst: perfect combinatino for cold winter days
Gluehwein & curry wurst: perfect combination for cold winter days
Castles are everywhere
Castles are everywhere

6. Loved the city square in Trier. I bet it will look beautiful during Christmas time with the christmas market.

City square in Trier
City square in Trier

7. It had been almost a month since I had left Paris. Going to a small town called Metz, France made me all emotional. I guess I was happy to say “Parlez vous angles?” again.

Metz, France
Metz, France
Metz, France
Metz, France
Metz, France
Metz, France
The old little guy's store with all knick knacks. He was the cutest person and was trying to help me by suggesting places I should visit. Awwwwww
The old little guy’s store with all knick knacks. He was the cutest person and was trying to help me by suggesting places I should visit. Awwwwww

8. Luxembuorg is a small beautiful city. My highlight was exploring the old quarters – the UNESCO Heritage. As a claustrophobia person myself, I could not imagine how people can live there. But, again I was totally impressed by how it was built. I have to admit — people in those days were genius.

Luxembourg - yes the weather was not that friendly
Luxembourg – yes the weather was not that friendly
Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Old quarters, Luxembuorg
Old quarters, Luxembuorg. Oh! that’s not my umbrella. How did it sneak in there?

My Europe this year was again fabulous. It was sad to leave Europe but I was happy to have met so many old and new friends, who helped me along the way, gave me company, fed me and took me around. Thanks to everyone!


3 thoughts on “Along the Moselle river in Germany

  1. Nice pics! I was at the cathedral in Cologne about 6 months ago when I was doing my own Europe backpacking trip…such a beautiful place with a haunted/historic look to it.

Leave a comment